Learning in the Foundation stage

Pre-school is where the excitement begins! Foundation stage 1 children learn in an environment which is developed around the children’s interests. We pride ourselves on being an exciting and engaging place to be – encouraging our children to be independent learners through a range of practical activities. We follow a curriculum which allows us to be creative with our lessons and let the children lead their own learning.

As our Foundation Stage children enter the classroom they learn primarily through a variety of play and real-life experiences. Our teaching is delivered through carefully planned tasks and guided key jobs. The children access their environment freely.  Their development is tracked through detailed, daily observations and child-initiated interaction. This information is then transferred into your child’s personal learning journey – a diary of information and photographs. We use these to record individual interests, progress and plan the next steps of your child’s learning.

The EYFS Curriculum

In Pre-school our Foundation Stage children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS). This curriculum is based upon four themes and principles.

  1. The Unique ChildWe understand that every child is an individual child who is capable in their own right. The holistic child has a variety of needs that need meeting over their time in the Foundation Stage.
  2. Positive RelationshipsSocial interaction is key to children’s development. Children become strong, independent learners; as well as scaffolding their learning through positive social interaction. 
  3. Enabling EnvironmentsProviding a safe, secure and stimulating base for your children is key to their development. The framework allows for experiences that respond to the child’s individual needs/interests; as well as developing a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.
  4. Learning and DevelopmentChildren develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Within `Development Matters’ there are 3 prime areas of learning and 4 specific areas. This framework provides the basis of how we structure the setting, the activities and opportunities we provide; as well as how we assess your child’s development. 

Prime Areas

  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
Cartoon image of children playing on a slide, ball pit and trampoline outdoors.

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Problem-solving, numeracy and reasoning
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
Cartoon image of a group of children looking at a teacher holding up an image of a giraffe.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically
Cartoon image of children playing with building blocks and teddy bears.